Well, that took longer than it should have…


A few weeks ago, I was asked to knit two hats and two pair of mittens for seven month old babies. Easy-peasy, right? Their noggins are small, and there’s no need to put thumbs in baby mittens…their little thumbs would never stay in them anyway. So I placed an order with Knit Picks for some Swish Worsted weight yarn, and while I waited for it to arrive, I scoured Ravelry for some cool hat patterns.

The yarn was delivered last Friday, and I immediately set to knitting the first hat in pink for the little girl. I finished it on Saturday, and as soon as the last end was woven in, I started the brown and blue hat for the little boy.

I adjusted the number of stitches I needed based on my swatch and his head circumference, and knit away. I finished the hat on Sunday afternoon and popped it on Penny’s head to test it, and only then did I realize it was too big. Way too big. Like, by three or four inches. I ripped it out, re-swatched, and tried again. And again.

And again.

I finally got it right (I hope) on Monday evening, and moved on to the mittens. I faced the same issue here, where everything I tried ended up being far too large, or teensy. I didn’t finish the whole set until late last night, when I stayed up especially so I could wake up this morning and not have to deal with the little buggers. I gave them a quick wash and popped them into the dryer, hoping against hope that the yarn truly was super wash, and that I wouldn’t have to knit these AGAIN because the dryer shrunk them to the size of nickels.


I added i-cord loops to the top of the hat and the cuffs of the mittens reduce the chances of them getting lost. See, they can be collected onto one of those little link-things! (I thought this was incredibly clever. Keep it to yourself if you disagree. I’m not in the mood)


This hat is actually folded up along the decrease lines, which is why it looks so little.

I can tell you, with much relief, that the yarn performed perfectly. It didn’t shrink, but it did put all of the stitches in line the way they’re supposed to be. This is great yarn, and I highly recommend it if you find yourself needing to knit something for a small someone, or for an individual who won’t give regular wool the care it needs and deserves. It is extraordinarily soft and squishy, and comes in several weights, so it will work for a wide variety of projects.

As for me, I’m just happy that I’m done with these, and that I can return to my regularly scheduled Christmas knitting, which is very, very behind. In fact, I think I have exactly none of my gifts completed.

Bye.

11 thoughts on “Well, that took longer than it should have…

  1. Alex says:

    Awesome! I love the green baby ring that connects the mittens with the hat.

  2. Arletta says:

    Thank you Amy for doing this for my friend.

    • DAD says:

      OH Sure, did it for Arletta, and meanwhile your poor dads project that he asked for months ago gets put on the back burner, again

      Luv U

      DAD

  3. Shani says:

    I I used to read articles in newspapers but
    now as I am a user of web therefore from now I am using net for posts, thanks to web.

  4. Jessika says:

    Hey would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3
    completely different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.

    Can you suggest a good hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thanks, I appreciate it!

  5. Why users still read papers when in this digital world everything
    is accessible on net?

  6. This entry is genuinely a fastidious one it assists new the web viewers, who are wishing in favour of blogging.

  7. Hi to every one, it’s genuinely a crucial for me to visit this web site, it consists of useful Information.

  8. Now then guys lets all calm down, have a relaxing warm bath and
    a cup of cocoa.

  9. I’m sure I saw a video linked to on here by someone, with some good advice covering this. I can’t seem to
    see the link.

  10. I’ve seen that many thoughts on this that I couldn’t be more baffled.

Leave a Reply

