Ahhhh…Much Better


Ok. It’s been a while, but I’m back. Two weeks ago, on Thursday, I experienced an ego-crushing blow that made me pause and examine whether or not I was worthy to continue calling myself a knitter (note the lower case “k”).

See, I went to a LYS to get some advice on how to weave in the ends of cotton yarn, as I was nearing the end of the Mabel sweater and didn’t want to have to wait after I’d cast off that final stitch to block it and see what my creation looked like after blocking. The lady I spoke to gave me the information I needed, then complimented my fine knitting. Then, she tipped my world upside down.

“What an interesting pattern. I’ve never seen one that had you twist all of the stitches.”
IMG_0229
Huh?

I broke the news to her that I had no idea what she was referring to, and a worried look crossed her face. She had me sit down at the table and take a deep breath. Then she handed me a sample and asked me to purl a stitch.

“Oh good. It’s best that it’s not your purls.”

Huh?^2

Then she had me knit a stitch.

“Ah. See, you’re wrapping your yarn around the wrong way. Look at your sweater. See how the stitches aren’t lining up quite right?”

Oh shit.

I took a few days off of knitting to consider my position. Mabel, nearing completion, was not the only project I was working on. The Hemlock Ring Throw was still on the needles, as were the January installment from the Rockin’ Sock Club. To make matters worse, my February Lady Sweater was still packed away as well, awaiting my final decision on how to get 4 more yards of yarn that actually match the rest of what I’d used.

All of those beautiful (to me, prior to that fateful Thursday, at least) projects. Wrong. Wrong. Wrong.

Well, I’m here to tell you that I’ve recovered. Mabel got ripped back completely (I nearly cried) and re-knit properly. It looks SO much better now.

Much Better!
Much Better!

The January RSC socks were removed from their needles and likewise frogged.

February Lady is still in timeout. I’m recovered, but still stinging a little. Maybe I’ll undo her next week.

3 thoughts on “Ahhhh…Much Better

  1. Mabel is lovely. It was probably lovely before, too! I think I’d just leave the twisted stitches on the projects in progress, finish them that way, and change over with a new project. You could call it a design feature…

  2. Flitterknitter says:

    Mable is truly gorgeous.
    I have been wondering lately what would happen if I wound my yarn the wrong way. Now that I know it wouldn’t be a disaster, I may do it on something. Prolly not a sweater, though, but a wash cloth just to see. Thanks for posting about it.

    • knittingknewbie says:

      Thank you. I’m really pleased with that little sweater. I put it in the mail today so the little girl I made it for might have a chance to wear it before she grows out of it.

      I’m glad my post helped solve the mystery of what happens when you wrap your yarn ’round backwards. I don’t know if this will help or not, but the resulting fabric also seems a bit tighter.

Leave a Reply

