A good day


Today was a good day. I knit about 12 rounds on my Rockin’ Sock Club Socks. I’m working on the pattern that was written by the YarnHarlot herself. It’s a challenging pattern for me.

IMG_0301

I’ve found that I have a love/hate relationship with this particular project. I loved the picot trim along the top edge, but hated life when it came time to do the hem.

IMG_0299

I loved the rhythm of the vines and purl field, but hated those first few roses (it probably didn’t help that I totally misinterpreted the directions…thank goodness for YouTube in general and this lady in particular for saving my sanity).

IMG_0298

I’m nearly to the heel, and would like to say that the socks and I have resolved our differences and are getting along swimmingly, but I don’t want to tempt fate. I’ve a lot going on the next few days, and would like to knit to relax rather than knit to see how long it takes for the men in the little white jackets to come get me.

In other news, tomorrow the city is turning off the water in our neighborhood in order to do some maintenance. Handy how they picked a day when I don’t go to work to perform the “maintenance.” I’m thinking conspiracy. But I’m not thinking it too hard. On the one hand, toilet use will have to be planned carefully, and I’ll have to make sure I have enough water in the fridge to keep the coffee coming throughout the day. On the other hand, I won’t be able to do any water-related chores. Hmmmm….an upside. It may not be such a bad day after all. If it becomes too much to handle, Max and I will trek on over to the bookstore to hang out. Looking better all the time.

ps…I forgot to mention that I got my very first blog comment today!! Thank you pdxknitterati!

One thought on “A good day

  1. Susie says:

    Love the colors on this project! Isn’t YouTube a lifesaver? I’ve used it as a tutor many times in the last year.

Leave a Reply

