On the way


This morning I was thinking about the projects that are in progress, and the projects that I’m looking forward to doing, and drinking coffee… my mind was spinning and I could feel the tug of empty needles and stash yarn and new techniques. I checked on my yarn order from KnitPicks, and found that it has shipped and will be here by Friday.

This is the first time I’ve bought yarn online, with the exception of the Rockin’ Sock Club kits that I receive. I really prefer the instant gratification of going to the yarn store and wandering around until I find something I like. But this is sort of a special circumstance.

I ordered Lizbeth Upitis’ “Latvian Mitten” book from Amazon a few weeks ago. I was going to get yarn at the same time so that when the book arrived I could cast on a get to work, but realized I didn’t know what weight I should purchase. So I waited, and I’m so glad I did. This is not a book to be taken lightly. When it arrived I spent a day just looking at all of the patterns in the book, then looking them up on Ravelry. Then I spent a day reading the background of the mittens. Ms. Upitis did a really exceptional job with this book; I sat for nearly an hour pondering what it must have been like to knit all those mittens throughout a girl’s childhood/teen years, only to give them away – some to the animals!! I wondered what my aunt Mary would have done when she married into our family: there are 11 brothers and sisters! All those mittens and socks and shawls!

But I digress… After digesting the historical information and marveling at the designs, I went to KnitPicks to find some yarn. I went ahead and ordered a bunch of Palette Yarn (fingering weight wool), in all different colors. Then I noticed that if I ordered $50 worth of yarn I could get free shipping. Let me tell you, I’m a sucker for free shipping. So I added four balls of Palette in Sweet Potato for a shawl that Miss Alex requested (add pattern name here). Hmmm…still not $50. Next into the cart was ten balls of Wool of the Andes in Jay Kettle (which is on sale now, by the way). This will become a sweater of undetermined pattern for someone.

On Monday evening I hijacked Sir Alex’s (that’s my husband) debit card, because I didn’t have mine handy, and ordered. I’m soooo very excited that they’ve already shipped it! I’ll post photos as soon as it arrives, but I was wondering if anyone has used this yarn (any of it) before, and what did you think of it?

I also just got an e-mail that my NEXT sock club installment is in the mail. Friday should be exciting!

Leave a Reply

