I have the attention span of a gnat on crack…


… or so it would seem. Last night, almost immediately upon publishing my post, the knitting fates gave me a smack up-side the head. I found an error four rows back (yes, those would be the four rows I did yesterday during my meeting and lunch) that was so weird I couldn’t just back up those few stitches and correct it. No, I actually had to remove all four rows.

Did I mention it was four rows? Oh, yeah, I suppose I did.

Anyway, I frogged back to my mistake, then carefully “reloaded’ my needle and knit just enough to ensure I had, in fact, corrected the error and that none of my stitches were twisted around (I simply REFUSE to have any twisted stitches in this sweater).

Then I put it away.

It’s not hibernating… it’s napping!

I swear that this time I’ll pick it back up faster. I promise not to vanquish it to the zip-lock bag of doom, nor to shove it to the bottom of my knitting bag.

But I did get just a teensy bit sidetracked. But it’s a gift for someone who isn’t expecting it. Those are my favorite kinds to give!!

Lace Poncho from Interweave Knits Fall 2005, in malabrigo buscando azul

I should mention that I’m not making it into a “poncho” as the name implies; rather, it will be a scarf. I added two repeats in the middle of the rows to make it wider because I’m using skinnier yarn and smaller needles (size 6). If you’re going to try this, I suggest using a larger needle to cast on. My cast on edge is a little bit scrunchy, but I’m not going to change it unless something tragic happens in the next couple of rows. This pattern is really easy to memorize, and it’s fairly simple to tell if you’ve screwed up (ask me how I know. I dare you) because of the way the little groups line up.

Well, I’m so tired I don’t have the will to knit – my eyes are barely open. Tomorrow, I’m going to work on the FLS again.

2 thoughts on “I have the attention span of a gnat on crack…

  1. Kathy says:

    I tend to do that too, the whole “knitting during a meeting then discovering that everything you did was wrong” thing. Doesn’t stop me from doing it though.

    The poncho/scarf is lovely.

  2. knittingknewbie says:

    LOL! You don’t know how good it makes me feel to know that I’m not the only one doing this (I’m not going to stop anytime soon, either).

Leave a Reply

