Waiting


10:23am – I’ve done most of my work-work for the day, and am straightening out the house so when FedEX gets here I can play with my wheel guilt-free. Every time I hear a truck outside, I check to see if it’s them. In fact, I’ve even caught myself thinking that maybe, just maybe, the FedEX dude is making deliveries in his personal car today, so I get excited every time a car slows in front of my house. This is stressful, as I live on a corner with a stop sign.

11:02am – Why are there so many trucks on my street today? I’m wishing the FedEX tracking site had a little GPS linked map so I could see EXACTLY where my wheel is. In fact, the only things keeping me from going out and trying to track him (the FedEX dude) down are: 1) if I leave the house, he’ll get here and I’ll miss the delivery (that’s Murphy’s Law of Shipping); and 2) he’d think I was a psycho, and I’d probably get arrested. I don’t think they let you spin in jail.

11:07 – DUDE! (I’m so excited my hands are shaking!!)

11:35 – It’s all put together, and I’m ready to try it out. YAY!!

Ok, not only does it work, but I remembered (after a brief incident where I was spinning rope suitable for use on an aircraft carrier) how to do it!  Thanks again to Cathy from the California Angora Rabbit Society (she taught me to spin), John at Village Spinning and Weaving, and my lovely husband who encouraged me to do this.

Final update:

I promise I’ll stop after this. Here is the roving I bought a few weeks ago:

…and here it is now, spun up:

I have to tell you, I’m feeling a little bit like a magician!

8 thoughts on “Waiting

  1. Sharon says:

    Awesome, hope you are still coming tonight!

  2. Mom says:

    Wow!!! Your yarn is beautiful. The wheel looks ultra modern. I was expecting something a little more traditional looking. Have fun and maybe you will spin some yarn for me someday.

  3. Dad says:

    Cool spinning wheel, very nice yarn. I am sure between Alex and I we could hook it up with an engine to make it really fly. Hnnn, think of the possibilities!!!!!!!!!!!! Look at putting fan shaped blades on the spokes, this would cool you while you spin. Hook up to an ice cream maker, for dessert when you are done spinning, think of the possibilities {;o>

    • knittingknewbie says:

      As usual, Alex loved all of your suggestions. You’re not allowed to be alone with the wheel for more than a minute!

  4. Dad says:

    Max must have been helping me type

  5. What is it about yarn that is so seductive?

Leave a Reply

