Anything but Orange


Maybe, someday way WAY in the future, I will knit something orange again. But it won’t happen anytime soon.

Here is Jojo’s shawl, washed and blocking on my bed.

Technically, it’s just drying, as it is so huge that I cannot pin it evenly. I’ve managed to talk Jojo into seeing the charm of leaving the edges ruffly. In the end, it took 6 balls of KnitPicks Palette yarn in Sweet Potato to finish, and from tip to tip is about 8 feet wide and 3 feet long. I think my gauge might have been off a bit, but since I don’t have the book with me right now (it’s all the way out in the car, and I just don’t feel like getting it), I can’t say for sure that it ended up being bigger than it was supposed to be.

But you know what?

It’s done, and Jojo is happy with it, so I’m happy with it.

I’m going to celebrate by knitting on something anything else. For all those cheering me on from cyberspace, my knit night group, and Wisconsin, I thank you for your support!

4 thoughts on “Anything but Orange

  1. Kathy says:

    Wow. I don’t think I’d ever go for anything orange either, but it sure does look lovely all pinned out. And doesn’t it feel good to finish a less than favorite project?

  2. Valerie says:

    It’s lovely! Take a well deserved break from orange (though that is a very pretty orange)

  3. Sharon M says:

    Buy that gal an Orange Juice (with pulp!) You wildly creative WI chick. This is the stuff that legends are made of! Love the designs in the shawl, Amy.
    Thanks for the coffee & our chat.
    PS Sent your site to my pal in ZH – she was flabbergasted. Think she wrote you … xo

  4. […] PDRTJS_settings_136921_post_189 = { "id" : "136921", "unique_id" : "wp-post-189", "title" : "Such+Fun", "item_id" : "_post_189", "permalink" : "http%3A%2F%2Fknittingknewbie.wordpress.com%2F2009%2F08%2F08%2Fsuch-fun%2F" } After I received my spinning wheel, I spent a couple of days spinning, spinning. I was having a blast, trying out different ways of drafting the fiber, working with different fibers, and changing the settings on my wheel. But then I had to get back to reality and finish a costume for ComiCon for Sami, and refocus my efforts on finishing Jojo’s shawl. […]

Leave a Reply

