More Christmas Knitting


I’m onto my third Christmas knitting project: a sweater for my cousin’s daughter. I’m kind of cheating with this one, as I’ve already made a smaller version of this pattern. Here’s a picture of it, although you’ll have to forgive its mis-shaped-ness; it’s been hanging out in my knitting bag for a few days and it got a little wrinkled.

This is Mable (again), this time with Cascade 220 Heathers. The color in the photo isn’t even close… I’m going to blame the green curtains I have on the windows for skewing it. The yarn is actually very dark blue, with a little green & purple mixed in. I’m working on the sleeves now, and have passed the lace at the cuffs and am on to the boring stockinette part.

The thing that’s been distracting me from the sweater is my newest lace project, “A Knitted Veil in Pyreneese Wool” from Victorian Lace Today. I’m using malabrigo lace weight yarn, and that coupled with size 4 needles makes for very slow going. I’m up to row 42, and it’s still only this big:

The only thing keeping me going is the knowledge that it will get bigger when I block it. Well, that and the fact that it’s so much fun to watch the pattern emerge. There is no end to my excitement of finishing a row and holding the piece up to check it out.

Oh yeah. I’m a girl of simple needs!

Leave a Reply

