How could I?


Tonight is one of my late nights in San Diego. Sami has a Kempo class, plus her private lesson, and I don’t start for home until 6:30-ish.  Although this is a moderate pain in the butt, I do get to spend some time knitting and visiting with Jojo.

Alas, today Jojo had plans to go to the library with a friend. So I was going to have an hour and a half of silent knitting time, just me, my yarn, and my needles.  I have me. I remembered my yarn & my needles. What I forgot were my patterns.

Both of them. Sitting together on the table at the end of my bed. 30 minutes away.

I’m quite known for forgetting stuff, whether it’s what time my flight leaves, or my office keys, or my wallet at the yarn store (this wouldn’t happen if I didn’t take it out there so much). And, every so often, I forget the pattern for whatever I’m working on at home.

I’ve come up with ways around all of these short comings. I set alarms on my phone to remind me of flights.

I have my office key separated from all the others, and just leave it in the car.

I’ve found that by combining a trip to the yarn store with a stop at Starbucks, I notice pretty quickly that my wallet is MIA.

And I scan my patterns and keep them on a thumb drive in my knitting bag, so I can print a copy to scribble on. And so I can just plug it into my computer (yeah, funny, but I always have a computer with me) and use a “soft copy” to knit from in a  pinch.

Except this time. This time, I have nothing. Nothing, except my unreliable memory telling me that I need to decrease 2 stitches every inch 6 times (or was it 3 times), then I decrease every 1.5 inches a couple of times… then I… rub my tummy and pat my head at the same time? Jump up and down on one foot whilst singing The Star Spangled Banner? Recite the alphabet backwards?

Well, I can at least get a few rows done. I’m fairly certain about the first part of my rememberd pattern.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

One thought on “How could I?

  1. Valerie says:

    I am constantly forgetting things like that, so I always try to keep an extra knitting project in my knitting bag… something that doesn’t need a written pattern… like my cat blanket, a dischcloth, etc

Leave a Reply

