What’s up with this?


On Wednesday, my Willoughby looked like this:

Today, it looks like this:

There were multiple problems with the scarf’s first incarnation. First, the top photo has 13 pattern repeats (out of 17 – nearly done with that half, right?) and is still less than 24″ long. The second is 3 pattern repeats, and is nearly 4″ already. That’s a significant difference. The second problem was this:

Master Knitting Program

I ran into this program as I was looking through Ravelry, and was intrigued. I am, by no means, a Master Knitter, but I think I have potential. I signed up, and started practicing my swatches. That was when I noticed that the scarf was looking messy, likely due to my habitually loose purls. So, just like when I was told I was twisting my stitches (I swear, this is the last time I’ll mention it!), I tore out what I had in progress and am re-knitting it, paying closer attention to how I’m knitting and holding the yarn, and the quality of my stitches. When I re-learned the knit stitch, I was sure I’d never be able to make that motion as easily as I had made the one that resulted in wonky rows. But now I’d have to sit and think hard about what I was doing way back then (a whole six months ago) to show you where I’d gone wrong. So I’m sure that, with some more practice, I’ll soon be back up to my regular knitting speed, but with more even rows to show for it.

I finished a swatch for the Master Knitter program last night, and washed and blocked it. And I’ll be re-knitting it.

This is a seed stitch swatch. It should look like a solid field of white bumps. Instead, it looks like the acoustic tiles they have in schools, where bored students have been flinging sharp pencils into the air to see if they would stick. I’m referring to the holes (just in case you missed it). I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong, but I’m going to start by going down to the recommended needle size.

In non-crappy knitting news, tomorrow I’m going to have a spinning lesson! I’m so very excited! I’ve been making it up as I go ever since I got my wheel in July, and if I’ve learned nothing else from knitting without supervision, I’ve learned that getting into bad habits makes life miserable. So I’m going to go spend some time with Lila in San Marcos in the morning, and I’m so excited I just know I won’t be able to sleep tonight.

Yeah, I know, I’m a dork. Deal with it!

Later!

One thought on “What’s up with this?

  1. Sharon M says:

    you just get better and better! Amazing stuff, Amy! xxoo

Leave a Reply

