On Making Yarn


Saturday I went to visit the lovely Lila in San Marcos for a spinning lesson. When I called her initially to arrange the lesson, I couldn’t help but think she sounded just like Double-G (that’s Great-Grandma – my grandmother, my mom’s mom), and wondered what she would look like.

Well, she looks just like Double-G. Short and grandma-shaped, with white hair, the only real difference I noticed was that Lila is slightly deaf (Double-G may be slightly deaf too, but I don’t remember). She was very lovely, and after correcting some of my form issues, and showing me how to check my spinning & plying as I go along, proclaimed that I didn’t need further lessons, but I did need to work on my patience.

Just before I left, she showed me some yarns which she’d dyed with plant material: eucalyptus bark, olive tree leaves, black walnut shells… I don’t know if I’m ready to get into the dye pot just yet, but I’m sure it’s coming soon.

Yesterday, in an effort to improve my patience, I spun about 52 yards of baby alpaca. I don’t have it here with me right now, but as soon as I get home, I’ll post the details.

ETA:

It took me a while, but here are pictures of the wool I spun with Lila

and this is the baby alpaca that I spun when I got home

and finally, here is some of that lovely batt from Grafton Fibers.

Leave a Reply

