Knitting Chest Complete!


I finally  attached the lining to the inside of the wicker trunk we bought to corral my wool and other knitting supplies.

I got the chest from Ikea for about $55.

I used “Industrial Strength Velcro” (that’s actually what it says on the box) to attach the lining to the trunk, but I’m not sure I’m happy with the results. You can see the velcro when you look into the chest from above, and I was hoping for something a little more finished and elegant. For now, however, this will do. The laundry basket from the corner of my bedroom has been returned to the laundry room where it belongs.

I have one more piece to add to my chest, but it’s not quite done. Eventually, there will be a piece of fabric attached to the lid, and it will have pockets for my needles and stuff. For now, I’m considering using one of my green Mason jars to hold them.

Aside from a bit of spinning and a single row of my handspun scarf, this is the only fiber related activity I did on Saturday. Oh, well. I had a nice day anyhow.

6 thoughts on “Knitting Chest Complete!

  1. Valerie says:

    That’s a great idea for yarn storage!
    Oh, I’ve been wanting to thank you for the button link and the offer. I think I’ve found some similar on Ebay… but thank you again. It was very much appreciated!

    • knittingknewbie says:

      Valerie, regarding the button offer, I’m glad you found something that will work, and I was only too happy to make the offer.

  2. Aunt LoLo says:

    I love the lining!

    • knittingknewbie says:

      Me too. I’ve always liked that fabric (toile), but it’s a little too over-the-top for me to use in any sizable amount. This seemed like a perfect place to put it.

  3. Kelly says:

    Looks cute! To hide the velcro — maybe hot-glue some trim (ribbon or cording) around the top edge? (Heard about your blog from the Google News Alert service, keyword “knitting”!)

  4. Mom says:

    Hi Brat (thought I would vary the greeting!), I think your trunk looks wonderful, but the suggestion about the trim around the edge sounds good to me. I also love the scarf. BTW, I finished the fronts of my sweater and am working industriously on the sleeves.

Leave a Reply

