Goin’ Old School


As a special treat, or perhaps as an exercise in how to waste time, I’m writing tonight’s post out longhand.

“Why,” you ask, “would you do such a thing? You’re going to have to type it eventually!”

Yes, my dear readers, I am. However, it’s 10:22pm, and I’ve managed to waste the many free hours I had available to me this evening trying to beat my mom’s score in “Bejeweled Blitz” on Facebook, and I now find myself tired (likely because my under-caffeinated blood has pooled in my butt from sitting for so long), funky (like “in need of a bath”, not “cool”), and without the post I’ve been trying to write all day. (Whoa! How’s that for a run-on sentence?) So, in the interest of multitasking and getting some sleep, I’m soaking in the tub, writing my post with a pen and some paper.

Being that today is Monday, I had a lot of time to knit, what with my weekly teleconference and having to wait for Alex & Sami to meet me at the bookstore. So knit I did! I’ve finished the cuff of the second Bird in Hand mitten, and would have been well into the main part had the lighting been more compatible with reading a chart.

While I was knitting on tis second mitten – which, by the way, is the last bit of Christmas knitting I have to do before sending the gifts off to Wisconsin – I day dreamed about what to knit next. I have several projects lined up, but the prospect of knitting without a deadline is making it hard to decide which one to pick up first. I’ve really enjoyed the challenge of making gifts for my family, but I think in the future, I’ll just do one or two, rather than a whole gaggle of them. That way it will seem like less of a job, and return to being something that I just love to do.

Leave a Reply

