Goodbye 2009…


Today is December 31, 2009. It’s been a long, tough year, culminating with my entire family getting the flu on Tuesday of this week. We have been fortunate, however, that the bug passed relatively quickly, and that we have ready access to laundry facilities within our home to make washing soiled bedding and clothing (4 or 5 times, in some cases) significantly less of a production. This year I also somehow managed to prepare my tax return, but never file it with the IRS. I find this particularly shocking due to my incredible (and, in my opinion, healthy) fear of the IRS.

But tomorrow is January 1, 2010. The first day of the second decade of the 21st millennium – and I’m excited. I feel like anything is possible. This is the decade when two of my children will graduate from high school, and the third will start in kindergarten.  This is the decade when I will move out of my 30s and into my 40s, finally becoming a “real” adult as opposed to a child playing grown-up (except with real bills).

This is the decade when I make real all (or at least the best) of the crazy dreams and goals I’ve batted around in the past. I’m excited about the possibilities and adventures that 2010 are presenting to me, and I can’t wait to get started.

I just read the Yarn Harlot’s New Year’s post, and she said something I really like: “I can end as I mean to go on.” So, since I have a few hours left, I’m going to tidy up my house, do a load of laundry, smooch Max (as soon as he & Alex get home), call the girls and tell them how much I love them, and settle down to knit in the new year. Because that’s how I mean to go on – happy, in a tidy home, surrounded by my lovely family, playing with yarn.

I hope everyone has a happy and safe New Year, and that this next decade brings you many wonderful surprises and adventures!

Leave a Reply

