Catching up


Wow. Sorry about the long stretch of <insert crickets chirping here>. I’ve been feeling a bit overwhelmed, and when I get to that point, I tend to sort of shut down and not really do anything. Well, anything except knitting. And working. And “mom-ing”.

And I think I’m ready to stop wallowing in… well, I don’t really know what to call it. “Funk” implies that I haven’t been showering. “Self-pity,” although a common thing to wallow in, isn’t what I’m dealing with. I think I’ll go with “nit-picky-life-crap”. That pretty much sums it up. There are a bunch of little things, none of which will take more than ten minutes or so to resolve, that I’ve just been putting off. I’ve got a list started, and I’m ready to start crossing things off of it.

Starting with this. A blog entry! I have actually done quite a lot of knitting in the last few weeks. Just after the new year I (re)started the Alpaka Tunic for Jojo (there were just too many mistakes to continue on with my initial attempt – this one is going MUCH better!), and as of today I’ve finished both sleeves, the back, and 1/3 of the front.  I’d take a picture of it to show you, but right now it just looks like a gloopy ball of black alpaca lace. See?

Alpaka Tunic, in Alpaca with a Twist

I was getting a little antsy, as I’ve found my ideal project takes about two weeks to finish. This sweater is quickly progressing (counting my false start) into its third week. So I took a little break over to weekend to make something for Max.

Child’s Placket Neck Pullover from Last Minute Knitted Gifts

I knit it using Cascade 220 and size 8 needles (rather than the size 7 called for in the pattern). I used EXACTLY two skeins – one of each color – and it fits Max with a little room to grow. It’s quite a toasty sweater. I know this because, after he’d been wearing it for a while, I picked him up and could feel the warm air come whooshing out from the neck. I’ll get a picture of it laid flat later, because by the time he went to bed last night, I was too pooped to take any more photos.

Wow. I feel so much better now that I’ve written this post. Item number 1 has been checked off my list.

Now for the other 200 things I need to do…


Leave a Reply

