My fingers have recovered


First things first: The President of the IKOC (that’s International Knitting Olympics Committee) herself has awarded me the gold… well, at least she visited my blog and left a comment saying that I’d made it. How cool is that? If I were a guitar player, it would be like Eric Clapton had come to a gig I played at a kid’s birthday party and told me afterwards that I rocked the house! I think I’ll order a t-shirt from the Panopticon shop on Cafe Press to celebrate my victory!

Here is a photo of Sami modeling her new sweater:

Loosely based on Debbie Bliss’ “Shaped Denim Jacket”, using Knit Picks “Elegance” in Jade

Next up, my fingers, which were quite sore from the marathon knitting sessions I pulled in order to achieve this great honor, have finally stopped hurting, and I’ve been knitting again. So far this year, I’ve finished 3 sweaters – one for each of the kids. I have one on the needles for myself, but I was getting bored with it so I took a break and knit…

Socks!

I have one of mine finished, except that I’m going to go back and re-do the bind off, because the one I used just isn’t stretchy enough. I’ll post a picture of it when I’ve completed that little detail, because off-the-foot, the sock looks ridiculous (because my feet are so big).

I’ve also finished one for Max. Isn’t it sweet?

Generic Sock for Max, using cool self-patterning yarn whose name I can’t remember

Amazingly, it fits him perfectly, which should motivate me to finish the second one before his feet grow and he can’t wear them. This is just a plain old sock, knit from the toe up (I am really starting to love this method) using yarn whose ball band I removed and then promptly discarded – I’ll get the name/color for you tonight when I go to Clever Knits for Knit Night. There isn’t any kind of chance that the second sock is going to match the first, so I’m not even going to think about it.

That’s what’s up with me.

Oh, wait. Did I mention that in October, we’ll be getting a new addition to our family? 🙂 Sami’s reaction to this, as Max was playing Godzilla with his train tracks, was, “Are you SURE you want another one?”

2 thoughts on “My fingers have recovered

  1. Valerie says:

    Sweater looks fantastic and that sock is ubercute!

  2. Kathy says:

    It’s really lovely and looks very nice on Sami. It’s my all time favorite color. Nicely done.

Leave a Reply

