Lovin’ Spring in Southern California


I was invited to attend another “Spin-In” hosted by the California Angora Rabbit Society (C.A.R.S.) on Saturday, but alas! I was unable to make it. I had already committed to shuffling the girls around in such a way that, in order to explain the schedule to anyone else would have been nearly impossible and guaranteed that someone would have been forgotten or late.

I’m glad I didn’t go, though, because I was able to attend the ceremony where Sami was promoted to Blue Belt (go Sami!). I had my camera with me, all ready to take pictures, but Max decided that he was going to be the designated photographer, and we ended up with 20 photos of the lights, the floor and the backs of other children, all featuring an extreme close-up of a chubby little finger (he had it on the lens the whole time). It was still really cool.

Yesterday, to make up for missing the Spin-In, I moved a kitchen chair & my wheel out to the patio, and spent a few hours in the sun enjoying the flowers in the garden and spinning away.

My setup, with the African Daisies in the background

The backs of my arms and neck are a little red, but not too crispy. I’ll remember the sunblock next time. It was so beautiful, we made hot dogs/bratwursts/tofu dogs (nod to Sami) on the grill, although we had to eat inside, because by the time dinner was ready, the sun was behind the trees and it was getting a bit chilly.

I hope your weekend was as great as mine!

2 thoughts on “Lovin’ Spring in Southern California

  1. alex says:

    Great picture. I’m suddenly encoraged to find a solution for the back of the house understanding that we can have beautiful perennials scattered about.

  2. Valerie says:

    What a great way to spend the day. I can’t wait for it to warm up here

Leave a Reply

