No excuse, Drill Sergeant!


I have no good excuse for my prolonged absence from this blog. I’ve told myself a few lies, but really, I’ve just been slacking off. I tried blaming Facebook (damn that Bejeweled game!) or the fact that I’m pregnant, but really, it only takes a few minutes to stop by WordPress and write a post… at least something to let you all know that I’m still here.

Enough about why I wasn’t here, and on to why I’m back. I’m currently in the midst of three projects that I love. I love them all so much that I can’t seem to dedicate enough of my brain to finishing any of them (see the lame excuses above for my attempt at rationalizing this).

The first project is the Girasole blanket that I’m making for my lovely husband. The body of the blanket is finished, and without any painful frogging involved (this time). Now I’m stuck at the bind off. I truly believe Jared Flood is a brilliant designer, and I aspire to someday be as creative and thorough as he is. But the bind offs he uses!! I occasionally think he does it in a conscious attempt to drive me, specifically, insane. I’m on the 70th repeat out of 213 (by my historically faulty math reckoning) of the bind off chart, and the whole project is too bulky and, at the same time, delicate to be pushed into and yanked out of my knitting bag. The stitches I’m working with are tenuously perched upon a DPN, while the rest of the million stitches I’ve not gotten to yet languish upon my ginormous circular needles. And so it sits, buried beneath library books and the sweater I wore yesterday, on top of my yarn chest, whining about how I’m neglecting it. I was going to work on it this evening, but I’m telling you stories instead. I don’t feel too badly about shuffling my priorities.

These are kind of old photos… I’ll get some new ones for you tomorrow. I promise! No really, I’ll be back!!

Next up is a Christening gown for Miss Penelope (aka Pumpkin, or Octavia) from Vintage Baby Knits. I’m using Malabrigo lace weight yarn in Natural, and it’s actually coming along very nicely. I started it almost as soon as I found out I was pregnant, then felt like I was tempting fate by being a little too happy about her eventual arrival. So, in a fit of superstition, I mushed the little piece of lace to the bottom of my bag, where it will stay until the end of July. This timeline serves two purposes: the first being that it seems prudent, at that point, to start preparing for her big debut in October; the second being that in July it will be toooooooooo hot to knit anything heavier than lace. See, my procrastination has logic!!

This is Penelope, not the Christening gown. I thought you might like to take a peek.

My third really great project is the Eastlake sweater by Norah Gaughan. I first saw this sweater on Orata’s website and I loved it. Of course, I made no note of the site nor of the pattern name, so it took several months of searching Ravelry with lame terms like  “leaves” and “pullover sweater” to finally find it. Then, several more months before I felt justified shelling out $$ for a book of patterns that had only one that I was interested in. But a few weeks ago, I took the plunge and bought not only the book, but the yarn and needles I needed, and I started in on it right away. The back is finished, and I’m up to row 67 out of 93 (or so) that I need to do for the front before I get to the yoke & arm hole shaping. I’m not in a huge hurry to finish this sweater, due to the fact that my belly is fairly monsterous already and so the sweater won’t fit me until sometime in November or December. I hate to think of what will become of it if I don’t lose the “baby weight” this time. I would hate to give it away as a Christmas gift.

So, that’s what I’ve been doing instead of writing. Today it hit me just how much I missed telling stories to people I don’t necessarily know, and now that I’ve caught you up on my life, I feel SO much better!! See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

