Alien Abduction?


This is the first explanation that came to mind this afternoon when I realized that I knit more yesterday – a work day – than I did today – my day off. Yesterday I finished the heel flap and turned the heel during my lunch, then whipped through the gusset while I waited for Sami to finish at Kempo. That left me with about 4.5 repeats of the pattern to go before I do the toe shaping. “I can easily finish that tomorrow,” I foolishly thought.

Yeah. Well. I still have 1.5 pattern repeats to go, plus the toe. I’m still optimistic that it will be done tonight, but I’ve promised myself that I won’t be bitter if I have to do the last little bit tomorrow durning my lunch.

Why, you ask, did I get so little done? Surely my house is immaculate and I have a 4+ course meal sitting on the table in anticipation of nourishing my family once my beloved arrives home.

Au contraire, mon frère! I did do dishes and a load of laundry. And I had my elves straighten up the toys in the living room. But that’s it. We’re having pizza for dinner. It seems I spent the day reacting to incidents and issues… and I had a nap.

But like I said, I’m confident the sock will get done and whether it’s done today or tomorrow won’t have any sort of detrimental effect on the weather or the volcano in Iceland, so I’m just going to go with it.

Leave a Reply

