Learning Something New


This has been a very educational week. I spent Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday at a class that was required for me to continue working in my current position. On Wednesday I took – and passed – the exam, and I can say with confidence that I now know more than I ever wanted to know about computer security issues and how to mitigate them.

To celebrate, on Thursday I stopped by Needlecraft Cottage in Pacific Beach and picked up a few balls of Mochi Plus yarn in order to finally learn how to knit entrelac. And I have to say, it’s going pretty well!

Entrelac Scarf knit with Mochi Plus Neptune Rainbow yarn on size 7 needles.

This pattern is like half project/half puzzle. I (uncharacteristically) enjoyed the fact that when I started I had no idea how this was going to work. I’d seen photos of the scarf “in-progress,” so I sort of understood what the stitch configuration would be, but I was still surprised by how it all comes together. I’m not going to tell you that part… you may enjoy the surprise as well.

Another thing I learned from this scarf is that THIS is why straight needles still exist. I’ve been using circulars almost exclusively for quite a while now, but found that with all the twisting and turning required on this scarf I was dealing with a big tangly yarn/cable/needle mess. As soon as I could, I switched to my straights, and all was well with my little knitting world.

In another uncharacteristic move, on Friday I actually sewed something. Check it out:

These are two little project bags that I made. Each one took 1/2 of a Fat Quarter of fabric, and are quite reversible. My sewing skills are such that I was amazed that the entire project – not counting the trip to the store to get the supplies – took only about an hour. Now that I know a) how easy they are to make; and b) how much of the yardage the drawstring channel and seams take up; I’ll make some more that are a bit taller/narrower/bigger in general to accommodate the various sized projects I work on.

10 thoughts on “Learning Something New

  1. sharmie says:

    hi there!

    thanks so much for linking my blog from yours, it made my day when i discovered it!

    that entrelac scarf looks really great. I’m not sure I’ll ever learn the technique, but i can’t help but admire the people who take it on–it looks especially great in that yarn!

    yay, sewing! it seems everyone i know has done a bit of sewing this weekend, it’s quite funny. those bags look quite nice, and reversible is always a plus!

  2. Wow! That looks amazing! It’s the first time I have seen one like that. Where did you see entrelac designs before?

    • My LYS owner made a pair of entrelac socks. I’m only just getting proficient (not good) at regular socks, so I decided a scarf would be a better place to learn this particular skill. If you want more info on entrelac, there’s a lovely entry here.

      Good luck!

  3. Young Wifey says:

    That is the most beautiful scarf I’ve ever seen!

  4. Andy says:

    Thanks for the link!

  5. Mary says:

    How far did one ball of the Mochi yarn get you? I have one in my stash and have been wanting to try entrelac for a while, but I don’t know if it is worth it.

    • Amy says:

      Mary, used 4 balls of Mochi to do the scarf. Entrelac really not hard, and the results are pretty cool. I think you should try it!!

      (by the way, this is “knittingknewbie”, but I can’t remember my login information for this older version of my blog. My new blog URL is linked to this reply, and you can find all of my old posts there as well. You know…in case you were curious…)

Leave a Reply

