No, really…I’m still here!


I know, I know. I said I’d write at least 250 words each day, and I haven’t even come close for the past two months, even if I count my Facebook comments. The truth is, I’ve been really, really busy, both at home and at work. And it seems the busier I am at work, the harder it is for me to refocus my attention once I’m at home, which in turn makes it nearly impossible for me to accomplish anything more than doing the dishes, taking a shower, and going to bed.

Oh, and knit. But surely you didn’t think I’d let a little thing like life get in the way of my knitting, did you?

So far this year, I’ve finished the Turkish socks (which were supposed to be a Christmas gift), but I wasn’t pleased with how they turned out. Which meant I had to knit an extra pair just to close out my knitting for Christmas 2010. It just so happened that my mom bought me a great book (“Think Outside the Sox”) and a bunch of Stroll yarn from Knit Picks for my birthday, with which I was able to knit …



Drip Candle Socks from “Think Outside the Sox”, in a variety of Stroll Handpainted yarns

I also knit a sweater for my college roommate, Dara’s, brand-new baby girl. I either made it too big, or too yellow, because I don’t have a photo of Miss L modeling her sweater yet. In fact, I don’t even have a photo of the finished sweater, because I sent it out as soon as I’d sewn in the last end. But I do have this



Spirited Jacket by Justine Turner (Ravelry Link) in yellow (obviously) Cascade 220 Superwash Sport

which was taken just after blocking, but before anything was sewn together. As a note, this is a really pretty sweater, but Ms. Turner was not joking when she states in the pattern that (I’m paraphrasing here) extreme amounts of concentration and focus are required. Still, if you’re reliably able to count to 4, and can do basic math, I encourage you to try this pattern out. I, apparently, still have some math issues left to resolve.

I really meant to bring you all up to date with what’s been on my needles since you last heard from me, but it’s already 11:29, and I’m sleepy. Look for a post tomorrow (or later today, depending on which time zone you’re hanging out in) with a shawl, a sock, and another baby sweater, all in the midst of being made!!

Good night!

Leave a Reply

