See, sometimes I follow through!


Ok, so now you know what I’ve finished. Let me fill you in on what I’m working on.

Item Number 1: The Crow’s Waltz Shawl


Crow’s Waltz Shawl, being knit in Arucania sock yarn rather than the DK weight called for in the pattern, and on needles whose sizes I’m no longer sure of

This is a free pattern from Loop knit shop in London, and it is very fun, and relatively quick. I think the best part is that after you knit the lacy edge, you pick up the 240-some stitches and decrease 4 stitches every other row until you have just 3 left. Yup, that’s right! The rows keep getting shorter and shorter, which is a neat little way of tricking my brain into thinking I’m getting more efficient.

Item Number 2: A Baby Sweater for Penny


Little Rose Cardigan from Sublime Booklet Number 612 (Thank you Kirsten!), knit using Fiesta Yarns Boomerang in color “Clematis”

This sweater was super easy to knit, and I was finished with the bulk of the knitting and sewing together within just a few days. The only part I still have to do is the trim. And the next item in my list is why it’s still not done…

Item Number 3: Socks for Stacey


Windjammer Socks from “The Knitter’s Book of Wool” by Clara Parkes knit with Stroll sock yarn from Knit Picks, on size 3 needles

To be perfectly honest, it’s less the socks than the needles that are keeping me distracted with these socks. Look closely… can you guess what they are? Those are my brand new Signature knitting needles (size 3) that my lovely and generous husband bought me for my birthday. Isn’t he just the kindest, most generous man ever? If you’ve been thinking about these needles, let me tell you, they’re expensive but so very worth it!! The cable is nice and soft (that’s the only way I can think to describe it), and the needles are very pointy and smooth, but not so smooth that my stitches go flying off when I stick them in my bag.

This weekend I plan to get out my sewing machine and create a proper home for them, as they are far too special to just get tossed in the pencil bag with the rest of the riff-raff. I will, of course, make their new home big enough to accommodate my less cultured needles. I’m hoping some of the sophistication of the Signature needles will rub off on my poor little bamboo sets, but I’m really only counting on being able to find needles when I need them.

3 thoughts on “See, sometimes I follow through!

  1. Carole says:

    Hi, I’m a new knitter myself, been knitting about 2 years. I think The Crow Waltz Shawl is so pretty, and am going to try knitting it too. Can you please tell me what length circular needles you are using? I see in the pattern it says the sizes, but not the length. I have 16 inch circulars, but think those will be too short. Thanks and I hope to see your finished shawl!

    • Carole,

      Welcome! I think you’ll enjoy knitting this shawl, as it goes quickly, and the pattern is well written. I’m using 30″ circular needles, and except for the first few rows haven’t even come close to having any of my stitches fall off.

      If you have any more questions, let me know, and send me a picture of your shawl when you’ve finished it!

      • Carole says:

        Thanks Amy! I am going to knit the Crow Waltz “Rectangular” Shawl. I realized your label was also a link to the PDF. Cool! Both of these shawls are beautiful!

        I’ll look for circulars in the 24-30 inch range then. Not sure what I can find around here, DFW TX, so may be ordering on-line. 😀

Leave a Reply

