Whine!


I’m stuck at a very difficult place in my knitting. I have a project that must, must be finished soon, but I would rather work on nearly anything else.

Here is the poor little project I don’t feel like working on…

Windjammer Socks by Jennifer Tepper Heverly, from “The Knitter’s Book of Wool”. Yarn is KnitPicks Stroll Tonal, and the needles are my fancy-schmancy Signature Arts needles, size 3

As it turns out, not even the greatest needles in the world can prevent second sock syndrome. There are 10 pattern repeats (10 cable crosses) on the ankle portion, and 10 on the foot portion, so even though I still have to do the heel flap and gusset decreases I’m going to count it as half done because I only have to do half as many cable crosses on the foot section (yay!). I must finish this soon, both because it’s sucking the life out of me, and because these are for my cousin Stacey, and she requested them especially for the upcoming birth of her baby girl. And said baby girl is due to arrive some time in the next few weeks. And I hate to send my presents late (Stacey’s mom, my Aunt Debbie, was the recipient of the Drip Candle Socks, which were a very, very, late Christmas present; I’d hate to have a reputation within their family as “she who never sends the gifts on time”).

The other reason I must finish these soon is that I bought this a few weeks ago

and have been looking forward to spinning it ever since. This fiber will remain mine, at least until it’s knit into its intended form (by me), at which point it will become someone else’s. I’m not telling whose. Just…someone else. This will be the first time that I’ll knit with my own yarn (aside from swatching), and I’m really looking forward to it.

Ok, this has become less a post about what I’ve been working on, and more a way to avoid that sock. Enough already. I’ll be back once it’s done.

One thought on “Whine!

  1. Faye says:

    I’m pretty sure you won’t get that reputation. Aunt Chris and Aunt Cindy almost never get quilts done on time and neither do I. So don’t worry.

Leave a Reply

