Hold it!


Wow, I have been busier than a one legged man in a butt-kicking contest, which is my excuse for not writing anything of substance for the last two weeks. I’ve had several good ideas for topics, but I’ve been focusing on finishing Jojo’s Monster Socks so she can wear them before it gets too hot, and the few spare minutes I’ve had, I’ve dedicated to that endeavor.

It took me two weeks to finish the second sock because I had a case of “projectus interruptus.” Last weekend the girls presented me with a challenge – they each needed to make a dress out of bags they’d collected from ComicCon for Spirit Week at their school (the theme was “Earth Day/Week”). Sami used the existing structure of a single bag, and added a few strategically placed pleats and a button to create this:

Sami’s ComiCon Dress, out of recycled bags

Ok, I’m obviously going to need a different photo. I’ll have her model it for me when we get home.

Jojo, on the other hand, had a more elaborate scheme. Last year, for a similar project, we’d purchased a dress pattern which we never used but kept (and remembered where we kept it). Last weekend this pattern was pressed into service to create

Jojo’s ComiCon Dress, out of recycled bags

If you know anything about me, you’ll know that I am easily the world’s worst seamstress, which meant that something that would take a semi-competent person a few hours to complete takes me an entire day. But do you know what? I had a blast! Due to technical difficulties, I had to do most of the sewing on Sami’s dress, but Jojo sewed most of hers, leaving me to take care of cutting out pieces and offering advice. Luckily, she didn’t have any terribly tricky issues, and the dress was finished before sundown on Sunday.

Luckily, the sewing thing really only comes up once or twice a year, so now I can return to my knitting.

Leave a Reply

