Memory Lane


I think it’s funny that, after almost two years, people are still reading my very first post. Today is my two year “blogiversary,” and if you were to click back through the entries, you’d find a story filled with great triumphs and great failures, as well as items which were started with incredible zeal, only to never be written about again.

(hm…I didn’t realize my failures SO outweighed my triumphs…)

The sweater that I prompted me to start this blog – my February Lady Sweater – is still around. I wear it nearly every day (mostly because I only have one other sweater that I knit, and it has the frustrating habit of slipping off my shoulders), and still have a string hanging down from where I joined the sleeve on one side. I haven’t cut it off because it doesn’t really bother me, and I can’t remember/figure out if I actually wove it in. The shape of it worked well while I was pregnant with Penny, because it hangs open on the bottom (hint: this would be a great gift for a mom to be). In fact, it worked so well that I was wearing it when Penny was born. It was the only thing that I was wearing that I wouldn’t let the ER nurses cut off of me (my new pajama bottoms and favorite t-shirt, sadly, were sacrificed).

Sometimes when I look at this sweater, even now, I curse the fact that I had to re-knit it so many times. I especially curse it when I find the one row in the sleeve where I knit plain instead of doing the lace pattern. But then I think that maybe, if knitting had come easily to me – if it hadn’t been an adventure that linked me more closely to my mom and helped me meet so many great and talented people – I might have gotten bored and moved on to something else before realizing that mastering this skill might take an entire lifetime, and that I’m willing to spend that long to achieve mastery.

Thank you for joining me on my adventure.

One thought on “Memory Lane

  1. Helena says:

    Try adding a row of (tight) single crochet around the neckline to tighten it up. It will help with the slipping off. I will be doing this to mine very soon.

Leave a Reply

