I must be getting old…


Lyon stole by Elsebeth Lavold, knit in Plymouth Yarn DK Merino Superwash

When I was a kid, I remember the adults around me marvelling about how quickly time passes, how it seemed that last Christmas had been just last week, and summer couldn’t have lasted more than a day or two, and hadn’t the new school year started yesterday? And I also remember thinking that they were insane. Christmas was, like, two years ago. And while summer went by quickly, school had been in session for ages, and I was ready for the winter holidays to start.

This year I find myself in the same position. Last Christmas zipped by, and then the school year ended and started again, and now we’re nearly to the end of November! How can it possibly be Thanksgiving already?  I’m not ready!

My Christmas knitting is progressing, but I’m so far from done that it’s not even a little bit amusing. I’ve finished one pair of mittens and a stole. I still have thumbs to put on another pair, a whole other mitten to make, plus a thumb, for yet ANOTHER pair. Oh, and a pair of socks. I still have to make a pair of socks.

We’re going to Wisconsin for Christmas this year, and I really can’t wait. It’s been about 4 years since we were last there during the winter and I miss the snow and cold. I love watching Alex’s reaction when we pass by the bank and he sees the temperature – not including the windchill. I love watching my kids interact with my parents and all of the people who love them regardless of how long it’s been since they last saw them. This year I’m especially looking forward to playing in the snow with Max, because he doesn’t remember it from the last visit.

But I know that I won’t have much time to knit during the flight  to Chicago. And there are parties to attend and cookies to decorate and people to visit while we’re there, so I can’t depend on that week before Christmas to magically yield thumbs and mittens and socks

So I guess I should get back to it

Leave a Reply

